University of Leicester

computer science

General Chat Forum (For General Chatting about anything)

[Topic Listing]

» Can we have an Alumni Email??? by Peter R Town (102)
     Posted 02-01-2007 09:33:01

A lot of other universities have an Alumni email address...
Would it be possible for us to have one setup?
It might encourage the growth of this network and increase the chance of keeping in touch with graduates with an Alumni email directory.

Re: Can we have an Alumni Email??? by Peter R Town (102)
   Posted 14-02-2007 09:40:20

Well I graduated last year and it wont accept my old account name now, I assume it's too late for me
It's a shame us guys where not made aware of the service when we graduated.

Re: Re: Can we have an Alumni Email??? by Thomas Erlebach (35) Site Admin
   Posted 22-02-2007 11:26:54

Hi,

I just talked to the Alumni relations office about this. They say that currently it is impossible for them to register former graduates for the e-mail for life service if these graduates do not have an active CFS account. However, there are ongoing discussions about opening the service to all former graduates (even those who have graduated before 2005), and if this gets implemented you will be able to get an alumni e-mail address. Not sure how long it will take until this is available though.

BTW, they say that all graduates since 2005 should have received e-mail about the availability of the e-mail for life service while they were still at the university.

Cheers, Thomas

Re: Re: Re: Can we have an Alumni Email??? by Peter R Town (102)
   Posted 22-02-2007 16:10:23

Thanks very much for the feedback!
Well I know that none of my friends that I have spoken to had any knowledge of this area, but maybe we all overlooked it.
Thanks again for your support Thomas

Re: Re: Re: Re: Can we have an Alumni Email??? by Peter R Town (102)
   Posted 22-02-2007 16:12:07

I get how the posts are structured now and i'll try to post in the right places! :S