University of Leicester

informatics

BCTCS 19, April 7-9, 2003

BCTCS 19

The following contains some information about the organisation of BCTCS 19, a detailed program and a list of attendees.

Lectures for BCTCS will take place at The Coppice which is a building on Manor Rd. Breakfast, lunch and dinner will be served at Stamford Hall starting with dinner on Sunday night at 730pm and breakfast at 800am. A bar will be open in Stamford Hall both before and after dinner throughout the conference. The conference dinner will take place on Tuesday, also at Stamford Hall. There will be an open meeting of the BCTCS after the last talk on Tuesday. After the meeting, we will solicit a list of abstracts to be published in the Bulletin of the EATCS.

Here is the detailed program and a list of attendees.

Monday 7 April, Morning Session

  • 08.55 - 09.00, Welcome
  • 09.00 - 10.00, Jean-Eric Pin, Logic and Automata
  • 10.00 - 10.30, Coffee
  • 10.30 - 10.50, Richard Bruce, L(p,q)-colouring outerplanar graphs.
  • 10.55 - 11.15, Joel Wright, The Essence of Compiling Exceptions
  • 11.20 - 11.40, David Manlove, Strong stability in the Hospitals / Residents Problem
  • 11.45 - 12.05, Mark Whitsey, Logics for resource-bounded agents
  • 12.10 - 12.30, Paul Sant, Edge-colouring pairs of 3-regular trees
  • Lunch at Stamford Hall

Monday 7 April, Afternoon Session

  • 2.00 - 3.00, Kurt Mehlhorn, Certifying Algorithms
  • 3.10 - 3.30, Rick Thomas, Formal Languages and Word Problems for Groups
  • 3.35 - 3.55, Aidan Delaney, Towards a minimal computational power operating system.
  • 3.55 - 4.25, Coffee
  • 4.25 - 4.45, Mark Jerrum, Bounding mixing times of Markov chains through decomposition
  • 4.50 - 5.10, Amin Farjudian, Conservativity of wRPCF over PCF
  • 5.15 - 5.35, Roman Kontchakov, On the interaction of the next-time operator with Boolean connectives in spatio-temporal reasoning
  • 7.30 - Dinner

Tuesday 8 April, Morning Session

  • 9.00 - 10.00, Muthu, Data Stream Algorithmics
  • 10.00 - 10.30, Coffee
  • 10.30 - 10.50, Michael Hoffmann, Efficient Update Strategies for Geometric Computing with Uncertainty
  • 10.55 - 11.15, Mihalis Beis, Algorithms for k-separated matchings in random graphs
  • 11.20 - 11.40, Andrei Krokhin, Algebraic clone theory and the complexity of constraint satisfaction
  • 11.45 - 12.05, Jon Grattage, A brief introduction to Quantum Computing
  • 12.10 - 12.30, Tomasz Radzik, Flow deviation method for the concurrent flow problem
  • Lunch at Stamford Hall

Tuesday 8 April, Afternoon Session

  • 2.00 - 3.00, Bill Lawvere, The boolean algebra classifying topos and the complexity of finite automata
  • 3.10 - 3.30, Andrew Bebb, EPSRC - Opportunities for Theoretical Computer Science
  • 3.35 - 3.55, Graham Hutton, The Countdown Problem
  • 3.55 - 4.25, Coffee
  • 4.25 - 4.45, Vincent Schmitt, Completing non symmetric metric spaces
  • 4.50 - 5.10, Thorsten Altenkirch, Containers and their Derivatives
  • 5.15 - 5.35, Monika Solanki, Denotational Semantics for DAML-S
  • BCTCS Open Meeting
  • 8.00 - Conference Dinner

Wednesday 9 April, Morning Session

  • 09.00 - 10.00, Achim Jung, TBA
  • 10.00 - 10.30, Coffee
  • 10.30 - 10.50, Ondrej Sykora, Construction of the Conjectured Upper Bound of Erdos and Guy for Hypercube Crossing Number
  • 11.00 - 11.20, Francois Siewe, Formalising Security Requirements
  • 11.25 - 11.45, Michael Zito, Keeping everybody under control: domination in web-graphs
  • 11.50 - 12.10, Gabriel Valiente, Planar Matching
  • 12.10 - 12.30, Stefan Dantchev, On Complexity gaps for Resolution-based proof systems
  • Lunch at Stamford Hall

A Full list of Those Attending

  • Thorsten Altenkirch, txa@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Andrew Bebb, Andrew.Bebb@epsrc.ac.uk
  • Mihalis Beis, mike@csc.liv.ac.uk
  • Julian Bradfield, jcb@inf.ed.ac.uk
  • Richard Bruce, rb39@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Manolis Christodoulaki, manolis@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • Yifeng Chen, yc10@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Stefan Dantchev, ssd6@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Aidan Delaney, adelaney@cs.may.ie
  • Corinna Elsenbroich, corinna@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • Armin Farjudian, M.A.Farjudian@cs.bham.ac.uk
  • Fedor Fomenko, F.Fomenko@sms.ed.ac.uk
  • Ana Fonseca, arpcf1@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • David Gabelaia, gabelaia@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • Leszek Gasieniec, leszek@csc.liv.ac.uk
  • Richard Geary, rfg2@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Neil Ghani, ng13@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Jon Grattage, jjg@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Will Harwood, cswill@swansea.ac.uk
  • Michael Hoffmann, mh55@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Catherine Hope, cvh@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Paul Hunter, Paul.Hunter@cl.cam.ac.uk
  • Graham Hutton, gmh@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Mark Jerrum, mrj@inf.ed.ac.uk
  • Achim Jung, A.Jung@cs.bham.ac.uk
  • Roman Kontchakov, romanvk@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • George Kourousias, gk@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • Andrei Krokhin, ak@dcs.warwick.ac.uk
  • Alexander Kurz, kurz@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Bill Lawvere, wlawvere@buffalo.edu
  • David Manlove, davidm@dcs.gla.ac.uk
  • Jose Marcial, J.R.Marcial@cs.bham.ac.uk
  • Steve Matthews, Steve.Matthews@dcs.warwick.ac.uk
  • Kurt Mehlhorn, mehlhorn@mpi-sb.mpg.de
  • Faron Moller, F.G.Moller@swan.ac.uk
  • Aybek Mukhamedov, A.Mukhamedov@cs.bham.ac.uk
  • S Muthukrishnan, muthu@cs.rutgers.edu
  • Apostolos Niaouris, Apostolos.Niaouris@newcastle.ac.uk
  • Graham Oliver, gpo1@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Mike Paterson, msp@dcs.warwick.ac.uk
  • Jean Eric Pin, Jean-Eric.Pin@liafa.jussieu.fr
  • Tomasz Radzik, radzik@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • Naila Rahman, nyr1@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Rajeev Raman, rr29@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Stephan Reiff-Marganiec, srm@cs.stir.ac.uk
  • Anthony Roy, work@ant-roy.co.uk
  • Paul Sant, sant@dcs.kcl.ac.uk
  • Vincent Schmitt, vs27@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Jan Schwinghammer, js35@cogs.susx.ac.uk
  • Dmitry Shkatov, dxc@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Francoise Siewe, fsiewe@dmu.ac.uk
  • Monika Solanki, monika@dmu.ac.uk
  • Iain Stewart, i.a.stewart@durham.ac.uk
  • Ondrej Sykora, O.Sykora@lboro.ac.uk
  • Rick Thomas, rmt@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Chris Tofts, Chris_Tofts@hplb.hpl.hp.com
  • Gabriel Valiente, valiente@lsi.upc.es
  • Mark Whitsey, mtw@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Joel Wright, jjw@cs.nott.ac.uk
  • Shengxiang Yang, sy11@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Jian Zhou, jz5@mcs.le.ac.uk
  • Michael Zito, M.Zito@csc.liv.ac.uk

Author: Neil Ghani (ng13@mcs.le.ac.uk).
Author: Steve Lakin (srl10@mcs.le.ac.uk).
University of Leicester 13th December 2002. Last modified: 5th August 2003, 11:31:14.
Informatics Web Maintainer. Any opinions expressed on this page are those of the author.